Noteworthy News

CMS Unveils Stage 2 “Meaningful Use” Criteria

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) has released its proposed regulation presenting the stage two requirements for achieving “meaningful use” of health care information technology that providers will have to meet to receive special, supplemental Medicare and Medicaid funding to support the development of their health care IT capabilities.  This funding was created under the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 (ARRA).

While most hospitals should qualify for supplemental Medicare funding, many will not meet the baseline criteria for receiving supplemental Medicaid funds.  NAUH believes that most urban safety-net hospitals will qualify for the Medicaid funding as well.

Read more about the stage 2 criteria in this CMS fact sheet and download the entire (455-page) regulation hereiStock_000015640638XSmall.

Leave a Reply

  • *

Search for
Noteworthy News

Related posts

    [exec] boposts_show(); [/exec]